Comprehensive Care provides free education and support programmes for people with diabetes.

Diabetes Self Management Education groups
Diabetes Self Management Education (DSME) is a free course for people with type 2 diabetes. This course will teach you how to live well with diabetes through medication management, diet, exercise, avoiding complications from diabetes, and managing stress. We encourage you to bring a support person (for example, the person who does the most cooking in your house!).

Attend the course as either as three short evening sessions (Albany only) or as one full-day session. Courses are held at:

  • Albany
  • Birkdale
  • Glen Eden
  • Henderson
  • Orewa
  • Stanmore Bay

Weekend courses are held throughout the year. We also occasionally hold courses presented in other languages.

If you are unable to attend a group session, we may be able to provide one-on-one support from registered nurses and dietitians.

Upcoming courses

Courses held in February, March, April and May 2020 are listed below. Events are regularly updated on our Facebook page.

July 2020

  • Saturday 25 July – Birkdale
  • Thursday 30 July – Ranui

August 2020

  • Saturday 1 August – Albany, full-day
  • Thursday 6 August – Stanmore Bay
  • Saturday 22 august – Henderson

September 2020

  • Mondays 7, 1, 21 September – Albany evening sessions
  • Thursday 10 September – Albany, full-day
  • Thursday 17 September – Bayview

October 2020

  • Saturday 17 October – Orewa
  • Tuesday 20 October – Hobsonville
  • Saturday 31 October – Albany, full-day

November 2020

  • Saturday 7 November – Birkdale
  • Saturday 21 November – Henderson
  • Thursday 26 November – Albany, full-day

December 2020

  • Thursday 3 December – Stanmore Bay

Follow the link for more details about DSME, or contact us on 09 448 0019 or DSME@comprehensivecare.co.nz.

Dietary advice
If you have diabetes, you need to pay attention to what you eat. If you live in the Waitemata DHB area and have been diagnosed with type 2 diabetes, you may find an appointment with a registered dietitian very helpful. We have clinics in Warkworth, Albany, Henderson, Birkdale and Kelston. Contact us on telephone 09 415 1091, or talk to your doctor or nurse about a referral.